at the Raabtal cycling route | © Steiermark Tourismus | Martin Kubanek at the Raabtal cycling route | © Steiermark Tourismus | Martin Kubanek
A journey through Austria and Hungary

Explore water-rich Central Europe ON EUROVELO 14

The EuroVelo 14 cycling route is about 740 kilometres long and connects the countries of Austria and Hungary. It takes cyclists from Zell am See in the Salzburger Land region through Styria and Burgenland to Lake Balaton and the Budapest area.

The route presented here follows the completed section from Zell am See to Szentgotthard in Hungary: It's a west-east crossing through Austria starting in the Salzburger Land region, continuing through Styria and Burgenland to the Hungarian border town. Of course, cyclists can also follow the route in the opposite direction, as it's signposted in both.

By the way: Running from east to west, the route connects several existing EuroVelo routes. These include EuroVelo 7, EuroVelo 9 and EuroVelo 13. Due to a continuous accompanying railway line, it's perfect for anyone wanting to combine cycling with rail travel.

EuroVelo 14 in a nutshell

  • starting point: Zell am See
  • end point: Szentgotthard (HU)
  • distance: 438 km
  • stages: 7–8
  • difficulty: easy – medium

Good to know: EuroVelo 14 runs exclusively along existing cycle paths:

  • The cycling route starts in Zell am See. The first section leads cyclists on the Tauern Cycle Path along the Salzach River, before it continues through Rastland Valley to Altenmarkt, where the route merges onto the Enns Cycle Path. Just before Admont, the route switches to the Rastland Cycle Path.
  • The section along the rivers Palten and Liesing to the Mur follows the aforementioned Rastland Cycle Path. In the small village of St. Michael, cyclists continue on the Mur Cycle Path for their onward journey to Graz.
  • After a few kilometres of cycling on the Mostwärts Cycle Path from Graz across the Laßnitzhöhe to Gleisdorf in East Styria, the cycling route continues on the Raabtal Cycle Path. It leads through the Spa Country of Styria to the final destination, the Hungarian-Austrian border town of Szentgotthard. Tip: If you aren't too keen on the climb from Graz to Laßnitzhöhe, you can also take the express train that runs parallel to the cycling route. A possible boarding point is, for instance, Raaba on the outskirts of Graz. From there, you can reach Laßnitzhöhe in just a few minutes – after two stops – on the S3 rapid transit line. Once you arrive, you can continue on the cycling route in the direction of Gleisdorf.

Stop and experience

Excursion destinations along EuroVelo 14

Along the cycling route, riders not only encounter numerous bodies of water but also exciting excursion destinations that are well worth stopping for:

Anyone interested in handicrafts and culinary delights should visit Berghofer Mühle (mill) near Fehring. The scent of freshly ground flour and freshly pressed Styrian pumpkin seed oil will make your mouth water.

Travelling comfortably by bike and train

Thanks to numerous railway stations along the entire cycling route, it is easy to combine cycling and rail travel. There are many Bed+Bike establishments along the route as well. This allows cyclists to plan their route flexibly, depending on the weather or personal preference.

EuroVelo 14 – a cycling route full of adventures

Throughout the cycling route, there are numerous opportunities to get to know the region as well as the country and its people.

Three times pure cycling pleasure in Styria